‘Last’ Day Blues

Today (Friday) was my, and everyone else in Lewiston’s, last work day with the company I’ve worked for for the last 7+ years. Technically I work for them until May 1st (Sunday) but I’m not planning on working between now and then so effectively today was it. We had a pot luck today to, umm, ‘commemorate’ the event. I won an M&M dispenser, so that was fun at least.

When I left for the day, someone in our marketing department was playing ‘Taps’ loudly on their computer, which seemed fitting…

Of course, I’m immediately getting hired by a new company, starting the second after I’m terminated, and my ‘new’ job is in the exact same chair in the same office, in the same building, in the same town, in the same county, in the same state, in the same country, on the same continent, on the same hemisphere, on the same planet, in the same stellar system, in the same galaxy, in the same universe (as far as I can tell!), with the same job duties for the immediate future. I even get paid the same salary.

Differences are things like my email address changing, the name of the company on my direct deposit statement, the location of corporate headquarters, and who my boss reports to (his current boss isn’t part of the division being aquired). I don’t know if they’re taking down the sign on the building and replacing it with a new one. Also, moving from the 66 2/3 lb chimp to the 800 lb gorilla of the industry. Whether this is good, bad or indifferent remains to be seen.

In other news, either a cold or allergies have been kicking my butt the last couple of days. Hopefully I can get some extra rest this weekend and feel better…

Until next time: Have fun, don’t die, and make mine Marvel!

About koxl0003

Just this guy, you know?
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

